University of Dundee

David Horn to receive C.A. Wright Memorial Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Parasitology

22 Feb 2016

Professor David Horn, of the School of Life Sciences at the University of Dundee, is to be awarded the prestigious C.A. Wright Memorial Medal from the British Society for Parasitology.
Professor Horn who is a Wellcome Trust Investigator and Deputy Head of the Division of Biological Chemistry and Drug Discovery at the School is a world authority on tropical parasitic diseases. His research aims to understand the genetics and molecular biology of the parasites behind tropical diseases such as African Sleeping Sickness, Chagas’ disease and leishmaniasis, with the aim of finding potential drugs to treat them. These neglected tropical diseases affect millions of the world's poorest people.
Professor Horn came to Dundee in 2013. He has published over 80 peer-reviewed papers, has lectured extensively on parasitic diseases worldwide and said ‘I particularly want to acknowledge the many excellent colleagues I’ve had the good fortune to work with, and am truly grateful to the BSP for this great honour’.

Professor Judith Smith, President of the British Society for Parasitology said, “The British Society of Parasitology only has one Medal, The Wright Medal. It is presented to the mid-career who, it is considered, will confirm their already outstanding achievements to become a truly distinguished future leader of their field. David’s work on molecular mechanisms affecting virulence, antigenic variation and drug sensitivity in trypanosomatids is groundbreaking and will undoubtedly underpin future approaches to control.” 

Professor Mike Ferguson, a previous recipient of the Medal said, "I am delighted that David has been recognised with this prestigious award, which is richly deserved. David is undoubtedly one of the leading molecular parasitologists of his generation and we are thrilled to have him here as our colleague.” 
The C.A. Wright Memorial Medal is awarded annually to recognise outstanding contribution to the discipline of parasitology; it was established in memory of Chris Wright, Director of the Experimental Taxonomy Unit at the Natural History Museum in London, and the Society's President from 1982-1983. 

Professor Horn now joins other colleagues in Dundee who have been past recipients of the medal: Professor Alan Fairlamb in 1996, Professor Mike Ferguson in 2006 and Professor Mark Field in 2010.
The medal will be presented to Professor Horn at the BSP Spring Meeting on the 13th April 2016 at Imperial College in London.