University of Dundee

RSC Group International meeting to be hosted by Dundee University

08 Jan 2014

University of Dundee is to host the 47th Annual International Meeting of the ESR Spectroscopy Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry from 6th - 10th April 2014. This long running, and highly regarded, international conference is a platform for scientists working in the broad area of Electron Spin Resonance and features the prestigious "Bruker Lecture" awarded annually to a scientist who has made significant contributions to ESR.

This year the award will go to Jörg Wrachtrup, University of Stuttgart, for his outstanding contributions to the development of quantum spintronics with diamond spins and of sub-nanometer spatially resolved magnetometry based on ESR. In recent years, developments in pulsed microwave technology enabled a range of new-pulsed ESR experiments that have extended the scope of the field. It now can be seen playing a major role in such diverse fields as spintronics, quantum computing, advanced materials science and structural biology.

The conference is being jointly organized by, David Norman (CLS) and David Keeble (CASE). Among the invited speakers will be Tom Owen-Hughes (Dundee), Gunnar Jeshcke (ETH), Christoph Boheme (Utah), Sabine Van Doorslaer (Antwerp).and David Britt (UC Davis).

For information on attending the conference please visit:

The closing date for submission of abstracts is 10 February 2014.