University of Dundee

Two new Fellows of The Royal Society of Edinburgh

03 Mar 2010

Warm congratulations to Geoff Codd and Daan van Aalten who were both elected Fellows of The Royal Society of Edinburgh this week (1st March 2010).

This is a great honour that reflects the outstanding research done by Geoff and Daan in their respective fields and does great credit to them and to the College of Life Sciences.

Former and current Fellows of the RSE include Walter Scott, Charles Darwin, John Logie Baird, William Wordsworth, Niels Bohr, Francis Crick, Sir James Black, Sir Philip Cohen, Sir David Lane, Sir Paul Nurse, Lord (George) Robertson and Fred Sanger.

The RSE was founded in 1783 by Royal Charter for the “Advancement of Learning and Useful Knowledge”. It is Scotland’s National Academy of Science and Letters. Today it has around 1500 Fellows whose expertise encompasses the full spectrum of the sciences, medicine, engineering and technology, education, law, the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, industry, the professions and public service. This multi-disciplinary perspective makes the RSE unique amongst the United Kingdom’s learned societies. It is funded by a range of carefully selected charitable, public and private bodies. Its mission today is providing public benefit through the advancement of learning and useful knowledge.