University of Dundee

Professor Mike Ferguson awarded RSE Royal Medal

22 Mar 2013

Professor Michael Ferguson, Dean of Research in the College of Life Sciences, has been awarded the Royal Medal, the pinnacle of the awards made by the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

“It is a huge honour to be awarded one of the Royal Medals of the Royal Society of Edinburgh,” said Professor Ferguson. “Science is one of the most communal of enterprises and this award really reflects the excellence of the teams of colleagues it is my great privilege to work with at the University of Dundee, and our collaborators.”

Professor Caroline Wilkinson, of the Centre for Anatomy and Human Identification, was given the Senior Prize in the RSE Public Engagement Prizes, supported by the James Weir Foundation.

Three academics at the University of Dundee have been honoured among the Royal Medallists and Prize Winners for 2013 announced by the Royal Society of Edinburgh including Professor Peter Davies, of the School of Engineering, Physics and Mathematics, who was awarded the Lord Kelvin Medal for his work in fluid mechanics.

The RSE President, Sir John Arbuthnott, in announcing the awards commented, “One of the greatest privileges of the role of being President of the Society is the opportunity to meet many of the most talented people working in Scotland today.

“Through these awards we are recognising outstanding individuals at points in their lives from those showing great potential at early stages of their career to those who have reached the pinnacle of their discipline and are regarded as such on an international basis. The process of deciding upon these awards provides an opportunity for the RSE and hopefully the research community at home and internationally to learn more about the outstanding and innovative work that is being undertaken in Scotland.”

He continued, “Since the inception of the RSE our core founding principle has been the `Advancement of Learning and Useful Knowledge’. This programme of awards remains absolutely true to this principle.

“The pinnacle of the RSE awards is our Royal Medals and I am delighted to be able to announce that the recipients this year will be, Sir John Cadogan, Professor Michael Ferguson and Sir Ian Wood. All three have made outstanding contributions, Sir John and Professor Ferguson in scientific excellence and Sir Ian for his role in building the Wood Group to be a multi-billion pound international enterprise, as well as his work in broader public life.”

Sir John concluded, “I wish to extend my congratulations to all of the 2013 Award Winners. Each of them is an inspiration.”